Have you written memoirs?

The first chapter was easy, describing how we met and how it started.

Chapters 2 and 3 have been really tough, depicting the slow slide into the realm of an unhealthy relationship.

I don’t know how many chapters it will ultimately be. I haven’t even gotten to the really fucked up shit yet. For the first time in a long, long time I find myself crying about it.

While I write it, I’m emotionless- I’m trying to search for the right words to make you feel what I want you to feel. But then after, I read it over and it hits me- this is real. It happened. It happened to me.

How do you deal with the emotions dredged up when you write memoirs?

No, really, that’s not rhetorical, I’m asking you. What do you do about it?

2 thoughts on “Have you written memoirs?

  1. I wrote mine for me…not thinking about how anyone else would feel. Later I rewrote it to make it sound good. The first time you must not try to over think anything, just write whatever comes out. Once you are done go over it one paragraph at a time and just make it sound more fluid. Also it helped me to write using another name. (Ultimately if I ever publish, I don’t want my husband to know it is me. So I used a pen name.) It is easier saying Bob slapped me across the face and I shook with fear, wondering how my Mom would feel about her little Sally was being abused. The using your real names… Mike slapped me across the face and I shook…. Hope that made sense. Writing has definitely helped me. Don’t stop. Meghan

    Like

What do you think?

